May 9, 2017

Love is a Verb.

Posted in true story, Uncategorized tagged , , , at 6:07 am by Broken & Brave

IMG_9543

Love is a verb.

Every breath of every day and every action step we take is to be an expression of love on some level. We are leaders, all of us, but how shall we lead? Which direction will our leadership take people? Years ago there was a woman in my church who never smiled or said hi. I made it a point, every week, to greet her warmly and say, “Hello.” Every week it was the same, she would shake my hand but say nothing and barely curve her lip upward. I could’ve taken it as rejection, but instead I allowed God to use it as an invitation to go beyond the surface and use kindness to reach down deep. After six months of nothing but the same, I finally got through. Her lack of response had nothing to do with rejection of me but her own self consciousness about her tremendous lack of teeth! She had many teeth missing. Of course, this would keep anyone from wanting to smile or speak. I believe she finally opened up and let me in because my consistent and persistent kindness bridged insecurity to self confidence that I would not judge her. Love is a verb…allow your actions today to encourage others, even if you see no feedback, you may indeed be bringing an inward smile that helps another overcome and unspoken struggle. Believe in yourself. Believe in Love. Believe in others…Nicole

“Pass through, pass through the gates! Build up, build up the highway! Remove the stones. Raise the banner for the nations.” Isaiah 62:10

Leave a Reply

