July 4, 2017

Seeded: Our Nations Heritage

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , , , , , , , , at 7:06 am by Broken & Brave

Seeded in Deep Waters

The Declaration of Independence was signed by 56 men, many of whom gave their livestock, livelihood, homes, property and very lives to defend. The document may as well be signed red because of all the blood and sacrifice shed. This is the bold and heroic belief the early settlers of this nation felt. They loved their homeland of England, but they were tired. They were weary of injustice and financial oppression and control of personal freedoms. They had a dream for more. So what looked like rebellion to King George, looked like hope for the American settler.

Five men compiled this sacred piece of history and signed it into law in the Continental Congress. It was a declaration like none other. Thomas Jefferson, who was known for his ability to write penned the document, John Adams, Phillip Livingston, Roger Sherman, and Benjamin Franklin. Roger Sherman was the only of the 5 men who did not sign the Declaration (he was Livingston’s cousin but not a member of the Continental Congress).

This document was handwritten in cursive. One more reason I feel it is imperative our successive generations continue to learn how to read and write in cursive. If this skill is lost, we will reach a point where no one can read these original documents of our heritage. I guess that’s a different post for a different day…

I have always been drawn to those who possess deep courage. Those who stir deeply with deep rivers of passion channeling about their soul.

As a child I loved swimming in the deep end of the swimming pool. I loved to hold my breath and skim past the bottom holding my breath for as long as I could. I would rise to the surface to refill my lunges, but then I’d quickly plunge to the bottom again.

Not everyone likes to swim in waters deep. Some prefer shallower things.

It’s important to have a healthy respect for water. Just as it is important to have a healthy respect for God’s Sovereignty and our nations democracy. A deep respect for those who never knew me, yet they gallantly and valiantly sacrificed what they may never enjoy themselves, for the future posterity of humanity. They believed they were part of something bigger than themselves. Personal wants and desires must die at a level of commitment so high.

These are the things that stir me deeply and cause my respect and admiration to rise high.

God bless the men who stained the ground red; who layed down their lives, who paid the price through the sacrifice of their fortune, their cattle, their bread. They left their wives as widows and children as well…they did it for me, so I could be free. They paid it forward in a way I am afraid modern day American doesn’t understand. I will never forget what they did for me…liberty is never free.

Happy Independence Day. Celebrate richly…

~Nicole

“There is no greater love than this: that a person would lay down his life for the sake of his friends.”
John 15:13

IMG_0527

Leave a Reply

