August 13, 2017

Who Am I?

Posted in Devotional, Uncategorized tagged , , , , , , , , , at 6:54 am by Broken & Brave

IMG_7146

Who Am I?

Who am I, Lord, that you would even notice me? Who am I that you should swim across all of eternity just to be with me? Who am I that you should walk through the flames taking my sin, my blame, my shame all for the Glorious honor to call my name? Who am I that you should love me so deeply?

I don’t know why you love me so completely and so deeply, but I, of course, am so glad you do.

When we reach a place in our courtship with heaven that we don’t need a lot of other things to find whole and solemn rest we have found a place in his heart that provides all of that. It is a source of true and abiding rest that carries itself so uniquely.

All my trials, all my troubles, all the problems my life has afforded me–and I have been through far more than I’ve ever shared publicly or even personally to others. Yes, all of that, did something extraordinary in my heart. It drew me in closer. It was God who actually began drawing himself in close to me. I just let him.

I was thinking about this a lot yesterday. Despite the intensity of everything I have endured in my life, my love and appreciation for God and His Goodness only grew more. I consider that fact alone to be supernatural. Why do some grow colder and harder from extremes and life’s duress while others grow in gratitude feel enormously blessed despite circumstances?

I know it all comes down to the heart. Heat purifies. Heat causes impurities to rise to the surface. Heat exposes the real us. We all have dross. We all collect moss in the chambers of our heart. If science teaches us that man only uses a small portion of his mind, I can only conclude by vehicle of common sense and deductive reason that the same is true for our heart and our emotional quotient. Some are blessed and able to love bigger than others just as some are blessed with incredible minds. The heat of trial only brings out the luster and shine.

No matter who you are.
No matter the crisis, the pain, your situation…
God is there.
He hasn’t forgotten to take care of you.
He has real and true beauty hidden in his heart for you.
Cling to him now. Open up your heart a little bit deeper for him. The Peace, Joy and Comfort will cause your heart to grin. He will quench your need like nothing ever has before. You will feel both content and thirsting for more. I call it “soul thirst” and he’s got a well overflowing with handsome riches in store for you.

Go ahead, open the door, let him in. Invite him in. Allow him to take his rightful seat in your life. I promise it will feel so good inside. You will know a pure and perfect pleasure as never before. He will widen, broaden, deepen your capacity to receive, be and show love as never before. You will feel good and others will notice it upon you.

He’d swim oceans for you…
His love is this True.

~Nicole

“The law of the Lord is perfect,
refreshing the soul.” Psalm 19:7

1 Comment »

  1. Thanks for being bold enough to share your love of God with the world! We need more of God in our lives and in the world. Lovely post!


Leave a Reply

