September 21, 2017

Divine Design

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , , , , , , , at 6:31 am by Broken & Brave

Man gives titles, God gives mantles

Your identity is not in your title or job description or physical appearance. Your Identity is etched within a Cross…

My husband has a look alike. I suppose the other man would say he has a look alike as well. For maybe the past ten years my husband is chronically told he looks like a specific actor by the name Kevin Sorbo. When we first heard this we had no idea who the man was, despite the fact he had a hugely popular television show in the 90’s and maybe early 2K. It was so blatant, and still is, that my husband has been approached for his autograph in restaurants.

A few years ago Kevin was the speaker at the leadership prayer breakfast here in our home town. We usually go to this event, but for sure we weren’t going to miss this one! I was so curious to see for myself if they really did look a like in person up close! You can make anything or anyone appear a certain way from a distance. Up close, in your face interaction with people is where you see the real deal.

Sure enough, I was in shock almost, they look incredibly alike. You would think they were brothers so striking were the similarities. Apparently others thought so too because Kevin already knew all about my husband when we were introduced. He had been told of his twin in Stockton.

As we left the venue a woman approached my husband and thanked him for coming and what a great word he had just delivered to the audience! It was hysterical!

Here’s the thing…my husband likes Kevin Sorbo. My husband has a similar stature, build and look as Kevin Sorbo. But in no way shape or form does my husband want to be Kevin Sorbo. Who would ever want to be a knock off when you can be your own real thing? It makes me think of handbags for women.

I kind of laugh at designer knockoffs. What’s the point? Some of the value of an original is the quality in the craftsmanship. I actually own a Gucci handbag. I notice the difference in the depth of the quality over some other handbags I own. It was an expensive bag. My husband purchased it for me as a gift and I enjoyed that gift. But I have no interest in buying more knock off Gucci’s. Why? So others can be impressed? Who cares! If it takes a knock off to impress someone then they aren’t worth impressing. Gravitate to people who are genuinely impressed with your qualities. Be your own designer original. You may not be a celebrity like Kevin Sorbo, but Heaven celebrates you every day.

You’re an original…own it victoriously!

~Nicole

“So God created man in his own image, in the image of God he created him; male and female he created them.” Genesis 1:27

(This photo gives you a feel for the true size of Kevin. He is clearly bigger than my husband and my husband is 6’2″ at 225 lbs. Both men are larger than life!)

IMG_3522

Leave a Reply

